Skip to main content

Purchasing

City Hall, Third Floor
Finance Dept. Suite 3100
700 North Main Street
Las Cruces, NM 88001

Phone: (575) 541-2525
Fax: (575) 541-2515

The Purchasing Section is dedicated to ensuring the effective and efficient purchase of goods and services based upon the mission of the City to provide responsive, cost effective and high quality services to the citizens of Las Cruces. We work with vendors and City staff to maximize the purchasing value of public funds while maintaining transparency in a procurement system that is fair and equitable for all participants, including, but not limited to, the following processes:

  • Competitive Procurement
  • Non-Competitive Procurement
  • Purchasing Card (P-Card) Administration

Our staff includes a Purchasing Manager, four Buyers, an Assistant Management Analyst, and two Purchasing Specialists. We are here to assist with all aspects of the City procurement process; please email us with any questions.

Statutes, Rules and Regulations

In order to maintain a procurement system of quality and integrity, the Purchasing Section must comply with applicable federal regulations, state statutes and local laws. The City Procurement Code was adopted and included in Las Cruces Municipal Code Chapter 24, and is subject to the following:

  • Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR)
  • State of New Mexico Procurement Statutes
  • State Use Act
  • Public Works Act
  • Subcontractor Fair Practices Act
  • Prohibited Bidding Code
  • Workforce Solution Registration
  • Construction Industry Division Licensing Regulation
​​
Deb Smith
Purchasing Manager
(575) 541-2527
dsmith@las-cruces.org
Jessica Peña
Assistant Management Analyst
(575) 541-2517
jpena@las-cruces.org
Kelly Covert
Purchasing Specialist
(575) 541-2529
kcovert@las-cruces.org
Dave Duncan
Purchasing Specialist
(575) 541-2514
dduncan@las-cruces.org

Bertha Chavira
Buyer
(575) 541-2520
berthac@las-cruces.org

Ernesto Fragoso
Senior Buyer
(575) 541-2696
efragoso@las-cruces.org
Donny Prosise
Buyer
(575) 541-2569
dprosise@las-cruces.org
Penny Wilson
Contract Analyst
(575) 541-2518
pwilson@las-cruces.org